## F.No.133/27/2015-TPL Government of India Ministry of Finance Department of Revenue Central Board of Direct Taxes

\*\*\*

New Delhi, the 20<sup>th</sup> May, 2015

## **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

**Subject: Constitution of a Committee on direct tax matters – regarding.** 

As announced by the Finance Minister in the Rajya Sabha on 07.05.15, a Committee is hereby—constituted to examine direct tax matters as referred to it from time to time. Following is the composition of the Committee:-

i) Justice A.P. Shah

- Chairman

ii) Dr. Girish Ahuja

- Member

iii) Dr. Ashok Lahiri

- Member

- 2. The Terms of Reference (ToR) of the Committee are as follows:-
  - (i) The Committee , to begin with, will examine the matter relating to levy of MAT on FIIs for the period prior to 01.04.2015. The Committee will examine all the related legal provisions, judicial / quasi judicial pronouncements and such other relevant aspects as it may consider appropriate.
  - (ii) The Committee is requested to give its recommendations on the above issue expeditiously.
  - (iii) The Committee will examine other issues as may be referred to it in due course.
  - (iv) The Committee may interact with various stakeholders as it may deem fit.
  - (v) The Committee may also invite officers from Department of Revenue including CBDT for consultations/discussions as may be necessary.
  - (vi) The Committee shall set its own procedure for regulating its work.
  - (vii) Necessary secretarial, logistic and other assistance to the Committee will be provided by the CBDT.
  - (viii) The Chairman and two Members of the Committee will function on part time basis and will be paid Rs.5000/- each per sitting.

(ix) The term of the Committee will be for one year or such period as may be notified by the Government from time to time.

(Raman Chopra) Director (TPL-II)

## Copy to:

- (i) Justice A.P. Shah, 1 Janpath, New Delhi.
- (ii) Dr. Girish Ahuja,
- (iii)Shri. Ashok Kumar Lahiri, V39/23, DLF, Phase-III, Gurgaon, Haryana 122002.
- (iv)PS to FM/OSD to MOS (Finance)
- (v) PPS to Revenue Secretary.
- (vi)PPS to Chairperson (CBDT).

Director (TPL-II)